Calculation time degraded in a parallel case

option, parallelism,...

Moderators: fgoudreault, mcote

Forum rules
Please have a look at ~abinit/doc/config/build-config.ac in the source package for detailed and up-to-date information about the configuration of Abinit 8 builds.
For a video explanation on how to build Abinit 7.x for Linux, please go to: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DppLQ-KQA68.
IMPORTANT: when an answer solves your problem, please check the little green V-like button on its upper-right corner to accept it.
Suguru

Calculation time degraded in a parallel case

Post by Suguru » Wed Jul 05, 2017 5:16 am

Dear all,

I have been faced with a trouble in parallelization on ABINIT-8.4.2 when I install it in a new system. I could not find a similar topic and I would like to get a help here.

I am a beginner of ABINIT and first-principle packages and enjoying a simple calculation with ABINIT on my desktop PC. It works well even in parallel cases. In order to start a relatively large calculation, I am going to use a larger computing system (16 processes with 256 GB memories). For the installation, I followed the completely same procedures as I used for my desktop PC. A brief description of the setup is as follows:

CPU: Intel Xeon E5-2687W Sandy Bridge Octa Core 3.1GHz, L3 = 20MB 150W x 2
Compiler: ifort 13.0.1 with Intel MKL
MPI: OpenMPI-1.4.5 combined with torque-2.3.7
Configure option:

Code: Select all

../configure --enable-mpi --enable-openmp --enable-64bit-flags FC=mpif90 CC=mpicc CXX=mpicxx LDFLAGS="-L/opt/intel/composer_xe_2013_1.117/mkl/lib/intel64" LIBS="-lmkl_blas95_lp64 -lmkl_lapack95_lp64 -lmkl_intel_lp64 -lmkl_intel_thread -lmkl_core -liomp5 -lpthread -lm" --prefix=$HOME/abinit-8.4.2

(I attach the config.log file for more details.)