Calculation stops without error when switching on D-field

Phonons, DFPT, electron-phonon, electric-field response, mechanical response…

Moderators: mverstra, joaocarloscabreu

juhl

Calculation stops without error when switching on D-field

Post by juhl » Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:42 pm

Dear Abinit community,

I am trying to include a D-field (displacement) in a calculation on CeO2. Calculations without field ran fine with this setup and I was following the tutorial for applying an E-field. However, in the first run that includes a (D)-field, the calculation always stops during the third SCF cycle. I tried a variety of things but the problem persists, even when setting the field to 0. Since I am fairly new to Abinit and there is no real error message, I was hoping to find some help if anything is not done correctly. Input and Output files are attached.
Attachments
abinit.in
(3.5 KiB) Downloaded 320 times
abinitjob.out
(452.37 KiB) Downloaded 282 times

mverstra

Re: Calculation stops without error when switching on D-fiel

Post by mverstra » Sun Sep 17, 2017 4:13 pm

Hi Juhl,

you are mixing lots of stuff: parallel, PAW, DFT+U calculations of the constant D. Could you try (with small ecut and nkpt) to see if things crash in sequential, without U, and for norm conserving, or with combinations of the three?

If a small calculation with all options on crashes, then we have something. It could be simply that something is not deallocated properly with this combination, and after a few iterations you overflow the memory. The "official" memory footprint is very small.

cheers

Matthieu
Matthieu Verstraete
University of Liege, Belgium

juhl

Post by juhl » Wed Sep 20, 2017 12:39 am

Dear Matthieu,

agreed. Trying to locate the error, I ran the same system with:

A) no U
B) no U and no PAWs
C) no U no PAWs but nsppol 2

All these give the same result (crash during iteration #3 in DATASET 21).