about pseudopotentials in .files file

Total energy, geometry optimization, DFT+U, spin....

Moderator: bguster

raff

about pseudopotentials in .files file

Post by raff » Tue Oct 19, 2010 5:29 pm

hello!!! In the Abinis Help I didn't understood how can I include the pseudopotentials
in the .files file and I want to know if it is obligatory to include pseudopotentials
in the calculations or there are option for calculate without pp.
thanks

Ngeah

Re: about pseudopotentials in .files file

Post by Ngeah » Tue Oct 19, 2010 10:56 pm

I'm no expert with ABINIT myself, but I believe this is how it works.

If you look at the tutorial file: t1x.in, you should see this:

Code: Select all

../t11.in
t1x.out
t1xi
t1xo
t1x
../../../Psps_for_tests/01h.pspgth

The part that says "../../../Psps_for_tests/01h.pspgth" states the location pseudopotential file (for H atom) on your hard disk. Of course, the location given is relative to the location of the .files file (hence the "../../../") and depends on where you saved your pseudopotential file.

If you're working with more than 1 type of atom, just start a new line and give the next location. I don't know if the order matters, but I usually list them in the order that I list them in the znucl input variable. I don't think you can run ABINIT without using pseudopotential files. I hope that helps.

raff

Post by raff » Sat Oct 23, 2010 3:22 pm

hello!!! thanks!!! the problem is that I can't find where are saved the pseudopotentials files,
I only find such files for the tests, then I don't know if there are others files and I
don't know what does means that (in the abinis help)

* pspcod=1 : Troullier-Martins pseudopotentials, generated by DC Allan and A Khein,
see ~abinit/doc/psp_infos/ psp1_info.txt ;
* pspcod=2 : Goedecker-Teter-Hutter (GTH) pseudopotentials. See Phys. Rev. B 54, 1703 (1996) if needed ;
* pspcod=3 : Hartwigsen-Goedecker-Hutter pseudopotentials. See Phys. Rev. B 58, 3641 (1998) if needed, and the